Bonita Park is owned and operated by the New Mexico District Church of the Nazarene. The Church of the Nazarene is a Protestant Christian church in the Wesleyan-Holiness tradition. Organized in 1908, the denomination is now home to about 2.3 million members worshipping in more than 29,000 local congregations in 159 world areas. The New Mexico District was formed over 100 years ago in 1913 and has grown from 7 churches, with 141 members, to 40 churches with almost 6,500 members today.

Check out what is happening around the district by clicking here

Mission statement

Our mission is to fully utilize the resources God has granted us, inspiring each individual to leave Bonita Park more Christ-like, ready to make a difference in their own life, home and community.

Camp board

  • Larry Lacher (New Mexico D.S. - Chairman) 
  • Larry Fry (Ex-Officio - District Treasurer)
  • Jordin West (Ex-Officio - NYI President) 
  • Bianca Rivas (Ex-Officio - NDI Chairman)
  • Nicole Young (Ex-Officio - NMI Chairman)
  • Jan Sweeney (Ex-Officio - Leaseholder Rep. - 2024)
  • Nate Bienhoff (Ministerial - 2026) 
  • Serina Nelson (Ministerial - 2026) 
  • James Byerly (Ministerial - 2026)
  • Wade Elftman (Ministerial - 2026)
  • Delaina VanSoest (Lay Representative - 2025)
  • Bruce Haley (Lay Representative - 2025)
  • Cindy Byerly (Lay Representative - 2025; Rec. Sec.)
  • Darrell Crosby (Lay Representative – 2025) 
  • Kent Carruthers (At Large – 2025)
  • Jeremy Martin (At Large- 2025)
  • Denver DeWees (Camp Director)

Bonita Park Map

Finding your way to a campfire at Agape amphitheater, or navigating to your meeting room can be a bit confusing for a first time guest. If you need a hand, or just want to get a feel for the layout of the camp, please view the map at the link below.